8 point defeat in Ashbourne

2017 A League Division 1 Round 2

Donaghmore/Ashbourne 1-14 Seneschalstown 0-09

Following a late pitch inspection from referee Jason Plunkett, the senior sides from Donaghmore/Ashbourne took to the field of play in Ashbourne in front a crowd which was well sheltered from the biting wind which blew directly down the field of play towards the town goal.

Despite playing into the teeth of the strong wind it was the home side which got off to the brighter start and had a goal and two points on the board inside the opening ten minutes while it took Seneschalstown a quarter of an hour before the troubled the scoreboard operator. That opening Seneschalstown point came when debutant Cathal Finnegan saw his cheeky goal attempt come back off the crossbar and out to Bryan Clarke who slotted the rebound over.

A minute later Donaghmore/Ashbourne hit back with a point to cancel out Clarke’s effort and restore their five point lead. Joe Sheridan had lined out on the forty but was operating around the middle of the field and in the eighteenth minute he showcased the handling ability which has helped earn him a recall to the Meath panel as he rose highest to pluck a David Gordon kickout from the sky. A mark was given and quick as a flash Joe delivered the ball in towards the full forward line where Finnegan was fed the ball and he made no mistake as he hoisted over his opening point.

Seneschalstown were now gaining a bit of a foothold in proceedings and Cathal Finnegan picked off his second point when landing a free before Jonathan Gilsenan kicked over his sides fourth point. Donaghmore/Ashbourne replied with another point before Damien Sheridan brought the scoring for the opening half to a close when he sent over a wind assisted effort from distance to leave his side trailing by 0-05 to 1-04 at half time.

Donaghmore/Ashbourne opened the second half scoring with a point but the lively Finnegan cancelled this score out when converting a tricky free. Now backed by the elements though, the home side kicked on and landed five points in a row, a run brought to an end when Meath Minor Finnegan picked off two more points, one from a free after Jonathan Gilsenan was cynically tripped as he burst through the defence and the other a fine effort from play.

Four more Donaghmore/Ashbourne points came in response before Seneschalstown brought the scoring for the match to a close when in stoppage time he made the most of a foray upfield as he latched onto a Finnegan pass to split the posts.

Overall a much-improved performance from their opening round game but another defeat for Seneschalstown.

Best for the Yellow Furze outfit were Adam Carey, Jonathan Gilsenan and Cathal Finnegan.

Seneschalstown: David Gordon, Conor Cowley, David Matthews, Niall Groome (0-01), Teean Cummins, John Smith, Adam Carey, James Conlon, Damien Sheridan (0-01), Ronan Conneely, Joe Sheridan, Robert Wogan, Cathal Finnegan (0-05, 0-03 Frees), Jonathan Gilsenan (0-01), Bryan Clarke (0-01).

Seneschalstown Substitutions: Brendan Lynch for R. Wogan, Mark Fox for B. Clarke, Dylan Doyle for R. Conneely, Eddie Meade for J. Gilsenan, David Fox for J. Smith and Darragh Keogh for T. Cummins.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer