Beaten but senior status maintained

Masita Senior Championship Rd 7

Na Fianna v Seneschalstown 

Half Time 
Na Fianna 1-07
Seneschalstown 0-3

Full Time 
Na Fianna 1-11
Seneschalstown 0-6

The long trip to Baconstown for the Final round of the Masita Senior Championship proved a tough experience for this Seneschalstown Senior ladies team whom very much in transition  have battled hard over the season, and whom were very unlucky in several games to get results with crucial injuries also taking a huge toll on the team throughout the season. This game had extra pressure due to relegation from the Senior ranks a real concern.

Na Fianna got off to the stronger start and registered 1-04 before the Furze girls got off the mark. Stacy Grimes with a pair of frees and a point from Louise Coyle were the only scores found in the first half. Na Fianna showing themselves to be a strong physical team went in at half time the happier. 

Half Time 
Na Fianna  1-07
Seneschalstown  0-3

The Boyneside girls gave their all in the 2nd half but couldn't live with the physical power of the Enfield outfit. With several u15 girls on the Yellow Furze team it was a bridge too far and after a hectic fortnight with some of the girls playing in their 5th competitive  game in that period the tell tale signs were there. To their credit they never gave up and showed huge commitment to the cause with young substitutes Anna Wogan and Zoe Kirwan combining to score Seneschalstowns final point but  Na Fianna proved too strong. A serious injury to Seanaidh Hickey who was hospitalised was the final nail  and the game finished in almost darkness.  

The anxious wait began for the girls to see if their Senior days were over. Regardless of the result tonight  it has to be noted that it was a credit and a pleasure to be involved with Legends of the past who have given their lives to Seneschalstown LGFC and whom continue to help nurture the future legends of the club. Grainne Nulty, Orla Sheridan,  Louise Coyle, Adelle Carolean, Emer O Carroll, Aoife Sheridan and Mena Sheridan have been stalwarts for the last 20 years and still with nothing to prove they keep coming back for more and the experience they have given the superb debutantes to the Senior team of Caragh and Aoibhe Monaghan, Lauren Donnelly, Aoife Lenihan, Leanne Clarke, Sinead McLarney, Anna Wogan and Zoe Kirwan will live long in the memory of these young girls.  Special mention and note has to be given to the injuries picked up along the way and how costly this proved in the last few weeks  - Kiah Geraghty, Nina Murphy, Caragh Monaghan,  Sorcha Gough and Cathy Anne Cowley. 

The anxious drive home waiting to here the result from Castletown from  Dee Rangers and  Royal Gaels resulted in a draw. The narrowest of margins resulted  that Senior status was secured due to Seneschalstown and Dee Rangers finishing on level points. The head to head result between the two came into play and little did we know then  that that win so early in the Championship would prove so important. 

Credit to our Banisteoir Anthony Monaghan who has trained Senior, Junior and Minor girls this season  and ably assisted by George Donnelly and Caolac Monaghan   whom have worked tirelessly all year, constantly encouraging the girls in training  and have together invested huge effort to maintain the girls at Senior level. A team and club in transition we can now look forward to Senior Championship Football in 2018. Thank you to Ollie Mulvany and  the commitee for all the unseen work and duress all year. Our Club PRO Brian Kelly  for all  his work. We wish Seanaidh Hickey a speedy recovery and a special word of thanks to Geraldine Sheridan Rachael Smith Geraldine Gordon for attending to Seanaidh superbly after the injury. To the Junior team and management the best of luck in the upcoming league final. 

#bailesencaill #oneclubonelife #futuresbright 

Grainne Nulty Ruth Commons Natasha Mullen Adelle Carolean Seannaidh Hickey Amy Gilsenan Leanne Clarke Aoife Lenihan Stacy Grimes(0-4) Aoibhe Monaghan Louise Coyle(0-1)Aoife Lenihan Aoife Sheehy Emer O Carroll Lauren Donnelly Subs: Anna Wogan Zoe Kirwan  (0-1) Laura Burke Orla Sheridan Shauna Fitzgerald 

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer