Brilliant Start For U-13 Girls

U-13 Girls League Round 1

Skryne 1-02 Seneschalstown 5-07

Seneschalstown's impressive U-13 girls got their Autumn campaign off to a perfect start in Skryne on a sunny Sunday morning with conditions ideal for football.

Taking the game to Skryne from the start the girls soon found their stride with the two opening points from play in the first and second minutes from Sinéad McLarney and Lauren Donnelly. Donnelly from midfield buried the first goal from the restart and the girls found themselves with great breathing space after five minutes 1-02 to 0-00. McLarney finished off a lovely move with a fisted effort and soon after a great layoff from Ava Jane Ryan, Mallaidh Breen found herself through on goal and finished with a superb strike. Again Ms. Breen found the net from long range with a speculative shot. The industrious Orla Finnegan scored a lovely point before Ava Jane Ryan again found the corner of the net after superb outfield work and passing linking Caragh Monaghan from midfield and Anna Wogan who was a constant threat and link between midfield and the full forward line. Another point from Ms. Wogan preceded another fine goal from Ava Jane, a lovely point from Skryne brought a one sided half to a conclusion with the Furze Girls really turning on the style. The Seneschalstown defence were kept busy but were being superbly marshalled by Aine Nangle, Aoibhe Monaghan, Sadhbh McLarney , Lauren McCarthy and the excellent Zoe Kirwan.

Half Time: Skryne 0-01 Seneschalstown 5-05

The second half was a quieter affair with Skryne coming back into the game after Seneschalstown made several changes to personnel. Skryne efforts were rewarded with a goal and a point, with Mallaidh Breen picking up two points for Seneschalstown before the final whistle. This is A great start to the campaign for these girls, and a special mention to all of those girls who begin life in Secondary School this week, the football teams in their new respective schools will surely benefit from these superb group of girls from Kentstown NS and Yellow Furze NS who both won their respective Cumann na mBunscol school finals earlier in the year.

Seneschalstown: Eabha Garland, Sadhbh McLarney, Aine Nangle, Lauren McCarthy, Aoibhe Monaghan, Zoe Kirwan, Caragh Monaghan, Lauren Donnelly (1-01), Anna Wogan (0-01), Mallaidh Breen (2-02), Orla Finnegan (0-01), Sinéad McLarney (0-02), Ava Jane Ryan (2-0).

Seneschalstown Substitutes: Ella Kilfeather, Ava Lyons, Zoe Ryan

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer