Conlon inspires victory

B League Division 2 Round 5

Blackhall Gaels 1-08 Seneschalstown 1-17

The Junior A’s of Seneschalstown picked up their third win of the season to date on Tuesday evening when they overcame a two point deficit at half time to eventually emerge as comfortable nine point winners over Blackhall Gaels.

Fielding a strong starting XV, the visiting side would have been relatively happy at half time, having played into a freshening breeze and had the luxury of having a strong substitutes bench to call on as the game progressed, something which proved to be crucial.

Buoyed by the advantage of the breeze in the second half, Seneschalstown put the Gaels offensive sextet under lock and key, not allowing many clear-cut scoring opportunities, the blocking of Paul Carey being particularly impressive while their two goal efforts which were attempted were easily scooped up by Keith Waters.

Two of the team which started in the full back line but ended up further outfield for the second half, Mark Fox and Cormac Noonan picked up rare points in this period while Gary Conlon continued his impressive form from the Senior game on Saturday evening as he tallied a goal and a point to add to his first half point.

Others who worked the umpire in the second half were Paul McDonnell with two points, Brendan Lynch, James Meade, Eddie Meade and Ryan O’Dowd.

The foundation blocks for the win were though laid in the opening half when despite being without Carey who found the hard to find pitch in Kilcloon a shade too hard to find, Seneschalstown kept their hosts within touching distance, leaving themselves in a position to pounce in the second half.

Best for the Mick Dillon managed outfit were Gary Conlon, Stephen Finnegan and Cormac Noonan.

Seneschalstown: Keith Waters, Mark Fox (0-01), Cormac Noonan (0-01), Brian Maguire, Mark Carey, Joe Cowley, Gary Conlon (1-02), Dylan Doyle, Stephen Finnegan, Neil Darby, Shane Clarke (0-02, 0-02 Frees), Paul McDonnell (0-02), James Meade (0-03, 0-01 Free), Eddie Meade (0-02), Brendan Lynch (0-01).

Seneschalstown Substitutions: Ronan Conneely for B. Maguire, Paul Carey for M. Carey, Damien McDonnell for N. Darby, Ryan O’Dowd (0-01) for P. McDonnell, Richard McKeown for G. Conlon, Kevin Casey for D. Doyle.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer