Division 1 status retained

Meath Ladies Division 1 League Round 7

Seneschalstown 3-16 Dunboyne 1-14

Having gotten off to a sluggish start in this year’s League the Seneschalstown Ladies had begun to run into a bit of good form approaching the final round in which they hosted high flying Dunboyne in a sun kissed Fr. Tully Park on Sunday evening. Missing key players such as the exam tied Amy Gilsenan, Grainne Nulty and Louise Coyle this was sure to be a very challenging assignment but in the end it’s one that Seneschalstown passed with flying colours.

Boosted by early scores from Aisline Taaffe, Nina Murphy and Stacey Grimes, Seneschalstown got settled early on but Dunboyne were proving to be a fine outfit with Sinéad Hackett in particular proving to be a handful with her probing runs while Vikki Wall and Edel McGrane were having a right battle on the edge of the square.

Midfielder and county minor star Natasha Mullen pointed on five minutes before Kelly Smith lit up the match with a quickfire goal and a point to give Seneschalstown a huge boost. Kiah Geraghty, a player of immense potential then opened her account before Stacey Grimes picked off her second point. Ruth Commons who had missed the 2015 season but who has been brilliant since her comeback then struck for a wonderful goal to push her team further in front. Following Commons’ goal the hosts struck for the point of the day when after a flowing team move Kiah Geraghty slotted over.

Eimear O’Carroll, back in the fold this year after an absence of a few years, then showed she has lost none of her class as she kicked two points before Kiah Geraghty brought the Seneschalstown scoring to a close for the opening half and left the score reading Seneschalstown 2-10 Dunboyne 1-07.

Seneschalstown took a while to get going in the second half but Nina Murphy boosted them with a goal on seven minutes before following up soon after with a point. Ruth Commons then pointed before Grainne Gordon was introduced to the fray. Kiah Geraghty chipped over another point with twelve minutes remaining and then Grimes kicked her third of the evening from wing back.

Nina Murphy added some gloss to the scoreline with two further points to bring her personal tally to 1-04, further illustrating the boost she is to the teams ranks.

Best for Seneschalstown were Aisling Taaffe, Adele Carolan and Eimear O'Carroll.

Seneschalstown: Lisa Mullen, Orla McMahon, Edel McGrane, Adele Carolan, Grace Cahalane, Lizzy Doran, Stacey Grimes (0-03), Natasha Mullen (0-01), Mena Sheridan, Kiah Geraghty (0-03), Nina Murphy (1-04), Eimear O’Carroll (0-02), Kelly Smith (1-01), Aisling Taaffe (0-01), Ruth Commons (1-01).

Seneschalstown Substitution: Grainne Gordon (0-01) for K. Smith, Catherine Smyth for E. O’Carroll.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer