Seneschalstown 0-08 Donaghmore/Ashbourne 0-12

Seneschalstown exited the Under 21 football championship after succumbing to Donaghmore/Ashbourne by four points on Sunday. Both teams found it difficult to adjust to the heavy ground early on with players from both teams frequently loosing their feet. Ashbourne opened the scoring with three points in the 4th, 5th and 8th minutes - two of which came from former Dublin minor Michael Deegan. Gerry McKendry opened Seneschalstown's account after nine minutes with a well taken point before Matt Devine restored Ashbournes three point lead after 11 minutes. James Conlon and James Meade (free) closed the gap to one by the 16th minute. However within a minute Deegan and Devine kicked Ashbourne into three point lead again. James Conlon pointed from an acute angle before James Meade pointed from the centre of the 'D' to leave one between them. Deegan scored the last point of the half as Seneschalstown trailed by two at the change of ends.

Half Time: Seneschalstown 0-05 Donaghmore/Ashbourne 0-07

The second half was not as free flowing as the first which resulted in a period of thirteen mimutes without a score between the 36th and 49th minute. The first scores of the half were swapped with Conlon pointing for Seneschalstown and Deegan pointing for Ashbourne. Then came the barren spell in which both teams were guilty of poor shooting and giving the ball away. It was Ashbourne who ended the barren spell when the left half back pointed after a swift move. Deegan pointed two frees- one of which was a fine kick from the 13 metre line near the sideline either side of a Cormac Noonan score which ended a period of twenty four minutes without a score for Seneschalstown. The point came following good play from younger brother Sean. Seneschalstown needed a goal but could not find a clear cut opportunity. However James Meade did go close with an effort sailing just wide after a shot from the twenty one metre line. Max McFarlane did point in injury time to reduce the deficit to three. Deegan wrapped up the scoring with his eighth of the game and sixth from play to see Ashbourne over the line.

Seneschalstown: R. Walsh, M. Fox, J. Smith, N. Groome(Capt), N. McCabe, E. Sheridan, A. Gargan, C. Noonan(0-01), T. Cummins, B. Lynch, J. Meade(0-02, 1f), G. McKendry(0-01), N. Lyons, J. Conlon(0-03), S. Noonan.
Subs: D. Geraghty for Lynch, M. McFarlane(0-01) for McCabe, D. McLoughlin for Lyons, E. Meade for Sheridan.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer