Goals prove crucial

Meath Ladies Division 1 Minor Championship Round 2

Seneschalstown 0-13 Boardsmill 8-05

Although both teams scored 13 times it was Boardsmill's ability to find the net which gave the visitors a victory in Donore.

Boardsmill opened the scoring in the second minute and it took the Seneschalstown three minutes to equalise when Kiah Geraghty fired over from play. A minute later Chrystal Delamere edged the home team in front from play, Katie Geraghty tapped over a free in the ninth minute and Kiah double her tally on ten minutes. Delamere then shot a quick-fire hat trick of points from play in a three minute spell before Kiah added her third score in the eighteenth minute. Boardsmill added points on nineteen and twenty minutes and on the run into half time score two opportunist goals to go in at the break a point up.

Boardsmill opened the second half scoring with 1-01 in the opening three minutes before Katie Geraghty added her second score from play on five minutes. Seneschalstown were well on top for the next ten minutes but were very wasteful kicking a number of wides and the only return in this spell were points from Eve Loughran and Aoife Lenehan from play. During this period the Boardsmill keeper did extremely well on 3 occasions to keep shots out to add to her two fine saves in the first half. Boardsmill added to their tally at the three quarter stage with a point and tagged on a number of goals in the last quarter with Natasha Mullen and Kiah Geraghty replying with a point apiece in the last five minutes. This was a disappointing result in the end considering the good opening twenty minute period of the game. Next up is Simonstown away, time and venue to be confirmed.

Seneschalstown: Catherine Smyth, Laura Wall, Aoife Lenehan (0-01), Chloe Williams, Leanne Clarke, Roisin Commons, Orla McMahon, Natasha Mullen (0-01), Kiah Geraghty (0-04), Katie Geraghty (0-02), Lauren Kelleher, Caragh Monaghan, Eve Loughran, Chrystal Delamere (0-04), Kelly Smith.

Subs, Ava Jane Ryan, Aoibhe Monaghan, Lauren Donnelly, Aoife Mulvany, Sinead McLarney, Carmen Merinero Lopez

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer