Heavy defeat in League opener

2017 A League Division 1 Round 1

Seneschalstown 1-08 Na Fianna 3-15

The 2017 League campaign got off to a disappointing start for Seneschalstown on Sunday as they fell to a thirteen point defeat to Na Fianna in Fr. Tully Park after a somewhat lacklustre display. Trailing by ten points at the interval after hitting ten wides, they managed to rack up a few more scores in the second period but could never get close enough to spark strong hopes of a comeback.

The visitors got off to the most perfect of starts when in the second minute former Meath player Jamie Queeney fired past David Gordon and into the net. Two more points quickly followed before Seneschalstown opened their account when centre back Teean Cummins sent over from out on the right.

A trio of points from play from Na Fianna saw them open up a bigger advantage as Seneschalstown hit a number of wides but eventually in the eighteenth minute Bryan Clarke became the home sides first forward to score from play when he sent over a free following a foul on Brendan Lynch. Clarke added a second soon after when he curled over a fine effort from the left-hand sideline.

Two more Na Fianna points came soon after before Damien Sheridan curled over after clever play from Niall McCabe and Robert Wogan. Things though didn’t improve for the hosts before half time as Na Fianna closed out the scoring with a goal and a point to leave the score reading Seneschalstown 0-04 Na Fianna 2-08.

Seneschalstown did start the second half off the brighter when landing the opening two scores through Bryan Clarke and Jonathan Gilsenan who pointed over his right shoulder after a strong burst from Ronan Conneely. Na Fianna hadn’t eased off the pressure though and soon hit back with two points before Seneschalstown’s hopes of a comeback flickered when after being unceremoniously taken down he dusted himself off and blasted the penalty to the back of the net.

This however was to be as close as Seneschalstown got as in response Na Fianna clipped over another two points. Clarke did add two more frees before the end but in the final quarter Na Fianna piled on a further goal and four points to ease to a comfortable victory.

Seneschalstown: David Gordon, Conor Cowley, David Matthews, Ronan Conneely, Adam Carey, Teean Cummins (0-01), Niall Groome, James Conlon, Damien Sheridan (0-01, Brendan Lynch, Dylan Doyle, Niall McCabe, Robert Wogan, Jonathan Gilsenan (0-01), Bryan Clarke (1-05).

Seneschalstown Substitutions: Mark Fox for T. Cummins, Paul McDonnell for D. Doyle, John Smith for A. Carey, David Fox for N McCabe.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer