Huge numbers togged out in Duleek

Duleek Bellewstown 4-05 Seneschalstown 2-04

Seneschalstown’s U-12 girls opened their Div. 2 Championship with a loss to a physically stronger Duleek Bellewstown outfit in sunny Duleek on Saturday March 25th.

When the action started, the honour of getting the first score of the season fell to Sarah Jane Donnelly who made no mistake with her first opportunity in the second minute with a point from play. Things got even better for the visitors on four minutes when Donnelly netted following good work from Niamh Mulvany and Megan Connolly. The exchanges were even and the Duleek girls scored a goal coming up to the end of the first quarter with the score at 1-01 to 1-00 to the Seneschalstown girls.

With 13 starters and 13 subs and every player required to play at least one quarter, a number of changes were made for the second quarter. Aly Clarke extended the visitors lead with a point from an acute angle before Darcey Kilfeather popped over a free. Things got even better when a Kelly Stafford 45 went straight to the net to give the girls a 2-03 to 1-00 lead at halftime.

More changes were made for the third quarter and it was the Duleek girls who had the better of this quarter scoring 1-03 to a solitary Megan Connolly point for the furze girls leaving the score tied at 2-04 apiece at the three-quarter whistle.

The fourth quarter proved fruitless in front of goals for the Seneschalstown girls as the home team tagged on 2-01 to ensure victory.

With so many substitutes, the make-up of the team was constantly being shuffled about so it was hard for the girls to get settled but great credit to all who battled right to the end including a number of debutants Chara Cowley, Clodagh McGauran, Erin Kelly Leahy and Catherine Monaghan. There is a panel of 31 girls at this age group this year which is great to see.

Seneschalstown: Lucy Lynch, Molly Keating, Orla Lynch, Holly Knowles, Carly Lynch, Megan Carolan-Flynn, Aly Clarke, Kellie Stafford, Sophie Sharp, Niamh Mulvany, Caoimhe Clarke, Megan Connolly, Sarah Jane Donnelly.

Subs: Caragh Cowley, Aoibhean McCarthy, Catherine Monaghan, Erin Kelly Leahy, Clodagh McGauran, Eve Nolan, Hannah Cronnelly, Aine McLarney, Maeve Donfield, Katlyn Delaney, Nina Loughran, Darcey Kilfeather, Grace Navagh Burke and Hannah Cronnelly.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer