Impressive performance in defeat for Junior Ladies

Coca Cola Meath Ladies Junior C Football Championship Round 1

Slane / Rathkenny 5-6 Seneschalstown 2-6

Seneschalstown lost out to Slane in the Coca Cola Junior C championship opener in Slane on Monday evening.

With a mix of youth and experience, the Seneschalstown girls gave a good account of themselves for their first outing together. Slane/ Rathkenny were a more cohesive outfit and the experience of playing in the league this year stood to them.

Slane started off the better and scored 2 points in the opening five minutes and increased the lead to 3 in the sixteenth minute along with kicking a number of wides. The Seneschalstown ladies were beginning to get to grips with the game and Emer Smith deservedly opened their account in the twentieth minutes from a free. Smith doubled her tally five minutes later and 2 minutes after that Laura Burke drew the sides level with a point from the left. Shortly afterward Kelly Smith had her goal bound shot blocked away and Slane broke up the field and scored on the stroke of half time to lead 0-4 to 0-3 at the break.

After the resumption the third quarter proved crucial as the Slane/Rathkenny outfit tagged on 3-2 without reply. In fairness to the Seneschalstown ladies they never gave up and Kelly Smith pointed in the forty seventh minute and a minutes later Laura Burke added a free from the right. Lucinda Healy then opened her account with a fine point from play in the Fifty sixth minute which was followed by a Roisin Commons goal who had now switched from her full back berth to full forward. Slane replied with a goal of their own almost immediately and tagged on their fifth goal with a minute to go. Emer Smith closed out the scoring with Seneschalstown's second goal.

With some of the girls playing their first game in many years, the team can be proud of their efforts and will no doubt improve as they get more game time together.

Seneschalstown: Sandra Waters, Elaine Dillon, Roisin Commons (1-0), Dervla Clarke, Laura Wall, Debbie Mangan, Catherine Smith, Eve Loughran, Aoife Lenehan, Shona Loughran, Emer Smith (1-2), Laura Burke (0-2), Lucinda Healy (0-1), Cathy Anne Cowley, Kelly Smith (0-1).

Subs: Rebecca Finnegan for Catherine Smith, Caroline Donfield for Elaine Dillon, Niamh Connolly for Laura Burke and Laura Burke for Shona Loughran.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer