Juniors Hold Off St. Mary's Rally

AFL Division 4 Round 3

Seneschalstown 3-12 St. Mary’s 4-7

Seneschalstown picked up a second win from three outings in Division 4 of the AFL when beating near neighbours St. Mary’s in Fr. Tully Park on Saturday evening.

The home side signalled their intentions right from the off, James Meade pointing from a mark after Peter Tierney delivered a pass from the throw-in. Two St. Mary’s points had them ahead by the 6th minute, with Meade levelling matters with his second point shortly after. Another brace of points moved the Donore side 0-4 0-2 ahead, with Seneschalstown struggling for scores early on.

That changed just shy of the 15 minute mark, when Seneschalstown were awarded a penalty. Eddie Meade was hauled down just as he was about to shoot, with Eamon Barry swiftly spreading his arms to signify a penalty. Dylan Keating finished low to the net putting the home side one in front, but parity was restored by the visitors for what would be the last time in the 20th minute.

Eddie Meade was causing the St. Mary’s defence all sorts of problems with his direct running , and after bouncing off a number of challenges he unleashed a rocket past the goalkeeper for goal number two. Dylan Keating notched two points for himself as the clock ticked towards half time, however St. Mary’s worked a goal for themselves right on the short whistle when a free had dropped short. Seneschalstown lead by two points at the break 3-4 to 2-5.

Both sides exchanged points at the start of the second period, Dylan Keating with the Seneschalstown effort, with James Meade adding two more to both his and Seneschalstown’s tally. Second half substitute Johnny Gilsenan put two points to his name, but sandwiched in the middle of those was a third St. Mary’s goal to reduce the gap.

Seneschalstown were able to steady themselves with points from James Meade and Mark Fox, and despite a fourth St. Mary’s goal which threatened a late comeback Dylan Keating closed out the game with one last point to leave the home side two point victors.

Seneschalstown: Cathal Darby, Ryan Finnegan, Mark Fox, Dylan Geraghty, Tom McDonnell, Niall McCabe, Cormac Carolan, Podge Finegan, Peter Tierney, Seán Carey, Dylan Keating (1-04, 1-00 pen), Darren Laird, Shane Mulvany, James Meade (0-05, 1m), Eddie Meade (2-00).

Subs: David Fox, Liam Maguire, Johnny Gilsenan (0-02)

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer