Juniors Run Out Of Gas

Premier Football Championship Division 1 Round 3

Seneschalstown 1-7 Trim 3-9

Missing a number of regulars for various reasons, an under strength Seneschalstown side went down to their first defeat in this year’s Premier Football Championship Division 1. Arriving in the Heritage town with only 16 players, three of which were nominally goalkeepers, Seneschalstown managed to keep pace with their hosts for 40 minutes before ultimately running out of gas in the final quarter.

Trim were quickest out of the blocks with the first three points by the seventh minute. Regular netminder David Gordon, lining out at corner forward got Seneschalstown on the scoreboard after nine minutes following some good work from Ross Howard. Another Trim point followed before Cormac Noonan showed some good strength to create a point opportunity for himself which he took with aplomb. The visitors then reduced the gap to the minimum when James Meade was successful with a free, Brian Maguire did well to draw the foul from a defender. However, Trim found the Seneschalstown net a few minutes later to undo some of the early good work by Seneschalstown. Another Meade free, and a point from play from Eoin Finnegan concluded Seneschalstown’s scoring for the opening half as they trailed by three points at the break.

Seneschalstown fell four behind early in the second half, before a quickfire 1-01 brought the visitors level. When a Cathal Darby kick out cleared everyone in midfield, it landed in the arms of Eoin Finnegan who made some space for himself to slot over from 35 metres. Seneschalstown backed this up with a goal. Dylan Doyle linked up well with Robbie Wogan who carried the ball towards the Trim goal. Wogan had the option of taking a point but he punched the ball across the square to the waiting Finnegan who palmed the ball to the Trim net to leave the sides level at the 40 minute mark.

Seneschalstown failed to build on this score, and it was Trim who finished strongly with a further 2-3, with a Finnegan point being Seneschalstown’s only score for the remainder of the game.

Up next for the team is a home game against Dunshaughlin.

Seneschalstown: Cathal Darby, Cillian Lawlor, John Smith, Brian Maguire, Conor McDonnell, Mark Fox, Ronan Conneely, Cormac Noonan (0-01), Robbie Wogan, Eoin Finnegan (1-03), James Meade (0-02fs), Ross Howard, David Gordon (0-01), Dylan Doyle, Darren Laird.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer