Late penalties prove decisive

U-14 Football League Division 2 Round 1

Seneschalstown 2-07 St. Cuthbert’s 1-03

Seneschalstown got their U-14 League campaign off to a winning start when making the most of two controversial late penalty decisions to defeat St. Cuthbert’s on a very heavy pitch in Fr. Tully Park.

The opening exchanges of the match were nip and tuck with the home side striking first when Will Finnegan sent over after good play from the triumvirate of Jack Freyne, Owen Mullen and Kit Waddington. The amalgamation of St. Cuthbert’s equalised on four minutes with an effort from play but midfielder Donal Commons was to notch the next two points for the home side. Firstly, he converted a free following a foul on corner forward Barry Redmond as he went down to pick up the ball and then another free when Kit Waddington was fouled at the end of a sweeping move started by a brilliant catch by full back Ben Coffey.

The next fifteen minutes was all St. Cuthbert’s as they hit a goal and two points, the goal being a fisted effort and one of the points coming from a free. However, another Donal Commons pointed free left just the two points between the sides at the break and Seneschalstown with the elements at their back in the second half.

Just as he had done in the first half Will Finnegan opened the scoring in the second as he popped over a free. Seneschalstown then almost got in for a goal only for centre forward Kit Waddington to see his piledriver ricochet back off the crossbar. Waddington though was to get some reward for his efforts a few minutes later when he sent over from play after good link up play from Aaron Traynor and Owen Mullen.

A fine Daire Walsh point edged Seneschalstown ahead on forty-two minutes but as the players on both sides began to understandably tire given the extremely heavy underfoot conditions scores were at a premium.

With the regulation fifty minutes almost elapsed Seneschalstown were awarded a penalty in bizarre circumstances as a St. Cuthbert’s defender was adjudged to have over carried the ball and never one to look a gift horse in the mouth the thoroughbred that is Will Finnegan crashed his penalty home into the top left corner of the net. And just like buses the penalties arrived all at once as moments later Kit Waddington was fouled and from the resultant penalty he made no mistake as he expertly sent his effort into the top left corner.

Best for Seneschalstown were Ben Coffey, Daire Walsh and Kit Waddington.

Seneschalstown: Cathal Darby, Jack McAuley, Ben Coffey, Dylan Geraghty, Daire Walsh (0-01), Liam Maguire, Conor McDonnell, Jack Freyne, Donal Commons (0-03, 0-03 Frees), Aaron Traynor, Kit Waddington (1-01, 1-00 Penalty), Owen Mullen, Seanie Dalton, Will Finnegan (1-02, 1-00 Penalty, 0-01 Free), Barry Redmond.

Seneschalstown Substitutes: Oisín Bowens, Cian Rooney and Tom Smith.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer