Late scoring surge secures spoils

LMFM Meath Minor League Division 3 Round 4

Seneschalstown 2-16 Moynalty/Carnaross 1-14

Following a game which never sparked to life on Monday evening in a chilly Fr. Tully Park, Seneschalstown overcame the combination of Moynalty and Carnaross by five points to copper fasten their place in the upcoming league semi-finals. A strong finish to the game from the Seneschalstown youngsters proved crucial in the winning of the match as they landed five of the last seven points, three of which were landed by substitutes Marc Horrigan and Alan Mulvany as the strength of their bench on this occasion proved crucial.

There was some confusion at half time regarding the score, with different parties having disparities in what they believed it to be but ultimately by the time the ball was thrown in for the second half agreement had been reached to everybody’s satisfaction.

The half had begun with Moynalty/Carnaross looking the brighter as they snaffled four of the first five scores but still only found themselves one point to the good as the Seneschalstown score had come from a Cathal Finnegan goal after he stole in behind the defence to latch onto an Eoin Finnegan long ball and once he was in for a goal chance he made no mistake as he gave cause for the green flag to be raised.

On twelve minutes Eoin Finnegan drew the sides level before for the first time Seneschalstown hit the front when after good defensive play from Shane McGeer and a clever pass from Sean Commons, Cathal Finnegan pointed. Robert Wogan then hit a brace of frees, the second of which he landed from the most ridiculous of angles to the left of the posts. Moynalty/Carnaross hit back with a goal and two points in the space of four minutes, the two points coming from frees before Robert Wogan steadied the Seneschalstown ship when in the twenty fourth minute he pointed a free after Eoin Finnegans jersey was tugged back.

Normally a midfielder but operating on Monday night as part of a two-man full back line, Daire Finnegan then scored an inspirational point when after winning a challenge deep in his own defence he carried forward before exchanging passes with the returning from injury David Fox. Finnegan then continued his run before from the twenty-one metre line he lofted over having initially gained possession on his own twenty-one. Seneschalstown then netted a penalty which Eoin Finnegan goaled after being fouled himself before the first half scoring was brought to a close with two further points for the home side, firstly a Sean Commons effort which was palmed over and then on the stroke of half time Eoin Finnegan tagged on a free to leave the eventually agreed upon score reading Seneschalstown 2-08 Moynalty/Carnaross 1-06.

That five-point lead was soon whittled down to one when within six minutes of the resumption Moynalty/Carnaross had knocked over four points, three of which came from play. Seneschalstown got settled when substitute Alan Mulvany kicked a point, a score which was quickly followed by similar efforts from Cathal Finnegan and Robert Wogan. Moynalty/Carnaross picked off three in reply with a Marc Horrigan effort following super play from Shane McGeer sandwiched in their midst.

With the match now finely poised Seneschalstown looked to inject fresh legs as they introduced Jordan Ogunyemi and Eoin O’Reilly to the fray and this seemed to have the desired effect as they got back into the groove. On forty-nine minutes Alan Mulvany pointed before four minutes later Cathal Finnegan split the uprights. Moynalty/Carnaross did manage a point with two minutes remaining but Seneschalstown closed the match out with further points from Mulvany and David Fox.

Best for Seneschalstown were Louis Healy, Brian Maguire and Alan Mulvany.

Seneschalstown (13 a side): Keith Waters, Daire Finnegan (0-01), Louis Healy, Richie McKeown, Brian Maguire, Shane McGeer, David Fox (0-01), Robert Wogan (0-04, 0-03 Frees), Joseph Moore, Sean Commons (0-01), Cathal Finnegan (1-03), Eoin Finnegan (1-02, 1-00 Penalty, 0-01 Free).

Seneschalstown Substitutes: Marc Horrigan (0-01) for J. Moore, Alan Mulvany (0-03) for E. Traynor, Joseph Moore for K. Waters, Jordan Ogunyemi for S. Commons, Eoin O’Reilly for R. McKeown.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer