Lightening Quick Start Propels Minors into Final

2021 Meath LGFA Minor Football Championship Division 1/2 Semi Final

Seneschalstown 1-18 Walterstown 3-09

Our Minor Girls of 2021 booked their place in the final of the delayed 2021 Division 1/2 Championship after beating Walterstown in a superbly entertaining encounter on Sunday evening.

Having not played in a number of weeks, both teams would have been forgiven for taking time to find their feet, but Seneschalstown came flying out of the blocks going at a rate of almost a point a minute for the first seven minutes.

Playing towards the clubhouse end in the first half, the hosts opened the scoring with a Charlie Murray point in the second minute. Seneschalstown won the resulting kickout and Megan Connolly got on the end of the move to double her sides advantage. Kellie Stafford was next on the scoresheet for Seneschalstown, as she shared the next four points with Charlie Murray to move Seneschalstown six clear by the seventh minute in a stunning opening blitz which threatened to end the game as a contest before it had even started.

Walterstown began to grow into the game, firstly by slowing the home sides scoring rate and then by registering the game’s first goal, a well worked move finished low to the net. They quickly followed up with a pointed free and suddenly Seneschalstown’s good start was almost evaporated. However, Anthony Monaghan’s team worked the ball back up the pitch and created some scoring opportunities for themselves to regain control. Charlie Murray continued her fine form in front of the posts with another point, and then Anna Wogan converted a close range free to leave Seneschalstown four ahead at the first water break.

Walterstown scored first in the second quarter but Seneschalstown embarked on another scoring burst to strengthen their position shortly afterwards. Anna Wogan, Kellie Stafford and Zoe Kirwan all found the range with points, before substitute Claire Finnegan found the net with a near post finish in the 26th minute, despite not being long on the field. Eight points clear again, many would have expected Seneschalstown to kick on and build on their lead, but Walterstown went straight up the other end and managed to put the ball in the net after a high ball dropped in the square. They followed up with another point, but a quick-fire brace of points from Charlie Murray and Anna Wogan closed off Seneschalstown’s scoring for the opening period. One last point for the visitors left four between the sides at the interval, 1-13 to 2-4. 20 scores in 32 minutes of football.

Despite the scores not coming as frequent as in the first half, the entertainment levels didn’t drop as Walterstown began to eat into the Seneschalstown lead. Three points at the start of the second half reduced the gap to a goal, before Seneschalstown settled themselves into the half with a point from Charlie Murray. Two more points from the visitors had the margin down to the same, but a strong finish to the third quarter had the home side four to the good again. Claire Finnegan and Anna Wogan with the points for Seneschalstown this time.

Just as they had done all night, Walterstown refused to lie down and found the Seneschalstown net for a third time. Again, there was only one point between the sides and Seneschalstown had to thank some good defending from Tiana Kyle and Molly Keating to keep them in front. Both sides struggled for scores as the last 10 minutes ticked by, with things becoming frantic and referee Paul Mooney issuing a yellow card to each side. As the clock ticked into the injury time, Seneschalstown managed to get the insurance scores needed to see out victory. Charlie Murray kicked a fine point from a tight angle, and Tara Traynor raised the final white flag from a close range free, leaving Seneschalstown in the final on a 1-18 to 3-09 scoreline. It was certainly a brilliant game of football, which swung back and forth throughout. Seneschalstown now play Skryne or Navan O’Mahonys in the final later this month.

Seneschalstown: Lucy Lynch, Katie McDonnell, Tiana Kyle, Molly Keating, Sadhbh McLarney, Robyn Murray, Catherine Monaghan, Tara Traynor (0-01f), Megan Clarke, Zoe Kirwan (0-01), Charlie Muarray (0-07), Anna Wogan (0-04, 1f), Megan Connolly (0-01), Kellie Stafford (0-03), Lauren McGuirk.

Subs Used: Claire Finnegan (1-01), Chara Cowley, Caoimhe Clarke, Meibh Donfield

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer