McEvoy Nets as C's Win Comfortably

Meath Premier Football Championship Division 4 Round 5

Seneschalstown 1-16 St. Michael’s 0-05

Seneschalstown picked up a fourth win on the trot and moved into a great position to qualify for the semi-finals of the Premier FC Division 4 after a big victory over St. Michael’s on Thursday evening.

Despite the visitors registering the first point of the hour, it was a comfortable hour’s work for Ian Maguire’s charges once Rory O’Connor pointed from play in the 6th minute to move them 0-02 to 0-01 ahead. Oisín McEvoy, who was to go on to have an industrious outing, previously got Seneschalstown off the mark with a point from play. Centre forward Joe Cowley put his name to the scoresheet with two points after 11 and 14 minutes. St. Michael’s did get their second point in between Cowley’s efforts, but Ross Mullen soon increased the home side’s advantage. Joe Cowley was having a busy first half and he found his range for a third time in the opening half with Seneschalstown’s sixth point. St. Michael’s replied with a score of their own, but Seneschalstown finished the half as they started – points courtesy of Oisín McEvoy and Rory O’Connor which came the way of a mark. Seneschalstown led by five points at the break 0-08 to 0-03.

After the break, Seneschalstown made a couple of switches in their forward line and both made near instant impacts. Firstly, Owen Mullen kicked an excellent score from long range. This was followed up by the first of James Conlon’s points, who was also introduced just after the break. Shortly afterwards, Brendan Lynch converted Seneschalstown’s first score from a free which was answered in similar fashion from the north Meath men.

Just before the second water break, Seneschalstown ultimately put the game to bed when Oisín McEvoy blasted to the roof off the net after getting on the end of a swift move in the forwards. It moved the hosts clear by double digits. St. Michael’s responded with what would turn out to be their final score of the hour as the winners reeled off the last five points of the hour. Four of these were scores from the returning Conlon, all from play, while the remaining point was a second free from lynch.

It was an extremely satisfying evening for the management team as the team moved back up into second place for the time being ahead of their final group matches against Oldcastle and Blackhall Gaels.

Seneschalstown: Robert Ruddy, Louie Healy, Conor Cowley, Colin Gleeson, Seanie Dalton, Kevin Casey, Cormac Duffy, Neil Darby, Damien Sheridan, Oisín McEvoy (1-02), Joe Cowley (0-03), Brendan Lynch (0-02, 2fs), Ross Mullen (0-01), Rory O’Connor (0-02, 1m) Ronan Groome.

Subs: Owen Mullen (0-01), James Conlon (0-05), Daire Finnegan, Cormac Mullen, Tom Smyth.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer