'Mill edge 'Town despite heroic effort

Seneschalstown 0-13 Boardsmill 2-08

On a fine evening for football a injury and holiday depleted Senior Championship team showed true grit and were so unlucky not to come away from the fixture against last years finalists with something.

In particular a wrist injury to Minor star Kiah Geraghty early in the 2nd half who was enjoying a magnificent game in midfield was a significant moment. With no bench left this was a fantastic effort that just came up short. A yellow card to Louise Coyle with 12 mins remaining was a huge blow but credit to this team they never gave up. Some magnificent scores from Stacy Grimes and Louise Coyle kept the scoreboard ticking over throughout the game but a few late opportunity were missed to equal the match which was the least the Furze girls deserved.

Credit to all the girls from Goalie Grainne Nulty who had some fine saves and massive distribution from her kickouts to the Full back line of Ruth Commons, Mena Sheridan and Leanne Clarke. The Half back line of U-15 star Lauren Donnelly, the evergreen Orla Sheridan and Seanaidh Hickey were kept extremely busy. A youthful midfield of Aoife Lenihan and Kiah Geraghty more than held their own and we wish Kiah a speedy recovery from her fractured wrist. Natasha Mullen was a fine replacement. Young Aoibhe Monaghan at 15 starting her first Senior Championship match was excellent and covered every blade of grass to mark Boardsmill and county star Emma Troy . Roisin Commons was as strong as ever with Shauna Fitzgerald enjoying an excellent game also. The full forward line of Aoife Sheehy Louise McKeever and Stacy Grimes were superb throughout. Senior status is priority now for this group of girls who have been so close and so unlucky in each of the championship games to date. Indeed the crossbar was rattled twice last night from Commons and Sheehy. We know they can still salvage something from this championship and with the spirit shown against all odds last night the last two games should not be missed.

Seneschalstown: Grainne Nulty Ruth Commons Mena Sheridan Leanne Clarke Lauren Donnelly Orla Sheridan Seanaidh Hickey Aoife Lenihan Kiah Geraghty Shauna Fitzgerald Roisin Commons( 0-01) Aoibhe Monaghan Aoife Sheehy Louise Coyle (0-05) Stacy Grimes (0-07).

Sub: Natasha Mullen.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer