Night to forget in Oldcastle

LMFM Minor League Division 3 Round 1

Oldcastle 5-14 Seneschalstown 1-07

In this deferred opening round of the Minor League Seneschalstown slumped to a heavy defeat against hosts Oldcastle in Millbrook.

On a night when very little went right and key players struggled for form Seneschalstown will hold their hands up and say that they were outclassed throughout the hour.

A good start is often half the battle and it was this that Oldcastle got when they found themselves ahead by 1-04 to 0-00 after just ten minutes. Eoin Finnegan sought to settle his team soon after when after linking up well with Dylan Keating he split the posts for his sides opening score. Oldcastle replied with two further points before Finnegan again hit a point for Seneschalstown when he knocked over a free following a foul on Keating.

From there to the interval though it was pretty much all Oldcastle as they added a goal and two points to no reply although Seneschalstown could feel somewhat unlucky not to add a goal when a looping shot rebounded off the crossbar.

Trailing by twelve points at the interval it would have taken a comeback of gargantuan proportions for the side from the banks of the Boyne to comeback but any hopes they held of such a feat were wiped out when with practically the first attack of the second half Oldcastle registered their third goal.

On thirty-five minutes Robert Wogan opened his account for the night when pointing a free following a foul on the hard working Marc Horrigan. Seneschalstown then had a good goal chance but Alan Mulvany saw his effort well saved at the near post by the Oldcastle net minder. By now the away side had established more of a foothold in proceedings with Daire Finnegan slowly but surely establishing a more effective road block at centre back.

Eoin Finnegan and Robert Wogan continued to add on a few points with Wogan’s coming after particularly good play from Sean Carey. Having gone ten minutes without registering a score Oldcastle soon set about rectifying this and doc so with a quick fire salvo of two goals and three points in a blistering five-minute spell. Eoin Finnegan did manage another point and Robert Wogan is cleverly fisted goal in the closing stages while the victors replied with two further points to leave nineteen between the sides at the close of play. Best for Seneschalstown were Eoin Finnegan, Marc Horrigan and Richie McKeown.

Seneschalstown: Keith Waters, Richard McKeown, Louis Healy, Joseph Moore, Eoin Traynor, Daire Finnegan, Adam McCabe, Eoin Finnegan (0-04), Robert Wogan (1-03), Alan Mulvany, Brian Maguire, Marc Horrigan, Cathal Finnegan, Jordan Ogunyemi, Dylan Keating.

Seneschalstown Substitutions: Simon Rooney for E. Traynor, Sean Carey for J. Ogunyemi, Naois Sweeney for A. Mulvany, Alan Mulvany for S. Carey, Eoin Traynor for J. Moore.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer