Seneschalstown fail to conquer the 'hill

A League Division 1 Round 9

Summerhill 1-17 Seneschalstown 2-07

Summerhill is never an east place to go and get a positive result in and on Wednesday evening this proved especially true for Seneschalstown as they went down to a seven point defeat to the hosts on what was a glorious evening for football.

Midway through the first half a hot air balloon complete with the Hunky Dorys branding passed overhead but at ground level things were far from hunky dory for the men in yellow as they could only manage two points through Joe Sheridan and Bryan Clarke in the opening twenty minutes while their hosts by comparison helped themselves to a goal and eight points as they opened up a sizable lead.

Something then clicked for Seneschalstown in the run in towards half time as they cut the deficit to four points. First Cathal Finnegan pointed after getting on the end of a ball in from Sean Noonan following good work from Niall Hickey before Finnegan rattled the back of Tony McDonnell’s net to breathe life into his side. Buoyed by this major, Seneschalstown came hunting a few moments later and when Bryan Clarke’s goal effort broke back out Robert Wogan found himself in the right place at the right time and he tucked the goal away.

Resuming for the second half trailing by 1-11 to 2-04 after Bryan Clarke had brought the scoring to a close, Seneschalstown introduced two sons of Deanhill as Stephen Finnegan and Adam Carey made their entrance. These two arrivals though didn’t spark further life into the team and it took them twelve minutes to register a score when Joe Sheridan sent over from distance. Cathal Finnegan soon added another but despite passing up on a host of goal chances, some of which were well saved by David Gordon, Summerhill were always able to keep Seneschalstown at arm’s length despite further points from Robert Wogan who sent over twice.

Seneschalstown: David Gordon, Conor Cowley, John Smith, Ronan Conneely, Niall Hickey, Cormac Noonan, Gary Conlon, Sean Noonan, David Matthews, Niall McCabe, Joe Sheridan (0-02), Niall Groome, Robert Wogan (1-01), Bryan Clarke (0-02, 0-01 ’45), Cathal Finnegan (1-02).

Seneschalstown Substitutions: Adam Carey for C. Cowley, Stephen Finnegan for S. Noonan, Brian Maguire for N. Groome, Ross Howard for N. McCabe, Darragh Keogh for D. Matthews.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer