Senior - AFL Div 1 The concession of four goals to Seneschalstown proved fatal as Dunshaughlin lost this Division 1 FL tie

Seneschalstown 4-8 Dunshaughlin 1-13

The concession of four goals to Seneschalstown proved fatal as Dunshaughlin lost this Division 1 FL tie.

Dunshaughlin started with a point from Cathal O'Dwyer who collected a long delivery from Niall Kelly from the throw in. This was the only time Dunshaughlin were ahead in the game. Seneschalstown opened their scoring with a great goal in the third minute from Brian Sheridan. They then scored three points before Niall Kelly scored a point in the 15th minute. Martin Reilly and Conor Staunton scored in the 20th and 21st minutes. This left two points between the teams but unfortunately for the visitors Seneschalstown went down the field and scored a goal in the 22nd minute from Tommy Ledwidge. They also scored another point before Niall Kelly pointed in the 26th minute. Seneschalstown scored 2 more points before half time which left the scoreline at 2 -06 to 0 -05.

The second half started brightly with a point from Cillian Finn in the first minute and another from Niall Kelly in the fifth. Seneschalstown got their third goal from Damien Sheridan in the tenth minute and pointed in the 14th. Niall Kelly, Martin Reilly and Conor Staunton scored a point each before Dunshaughlin conceded a penalty which was expertly converted by Bryan Clarke in the 21st minute. Seneschalstown got their final point in the 22nd minute.

In fairness to Dunshaughlin they never gave up and Martin Reilly scored a great goal in the 23rd minute. He scored two further points and Cillian Finn scored his second point in the closing minutes.

Best for Dunshaughlin were Richie Kealy, Martin Reilly, Conor Staunton and Denis Kealy.

Dunshaughlin - Ronan Gogan, Kevin Moyles, Ken McTigue, Denis Kealy, Ronnie Yore, Ray Maloney, Ciaran Farrelly, Cillian Finn, Niall Kelly, David McMahon, Martin Reilly, Conor Staunton, Michael Johnson, Paschal McErlean, Cathal O'Dwyer. Subs: Richie Kealy for Ciaran Farrelly. Trevor Dowd for David McMahon, Fearghal Gogan for Paschal McErlean, Fearghal Delaney for Kevin Moyles, John Coleman for Michael Johnson.

Seneschalstown - D Lyons; W Smith, A Collins, G Sheridan; G Conlon, J Cowley, M Carey (0-1); C Ruddy, D Sheridan (1-1); T Ledwidge (1-0), S Clarke (0-2), S Sheridan (0-1); S Finnegan, B Sheridan (1-2), B Clarke (1-1). Subs - S Dillon for Ledwidge, P Garry for Ruddy, C McGowan for B Sheridan, I Carroll for S Sheridan.

Link to Fixture: 
Senior AFL Div 1

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer