Senior AFL Div1 - SFC champions Seneschalstown opened their Division 1 FL campaign with a win over league title holders Wolfe Tones

AFL Div1

Seneschalstown 2-8 Wolfe Tones 0-9
SFC champions Seneschalstown opened their Division 1 FL campaign with a win over league title holders Wolfe Tones at Kilberry on Sunday.

Damien Sheridan's more economical charges were good value for their five points winning margin after recovering from a slow start.

Shane Clarke's sixth minute goal earned Seneschalstown a lead they wouldn't cash in and left it 1-2 to 0-2.

Wolfe Tones trailed by 0-5 to 1-6 at the break but took control on the resumption only to be let down by eight second-half wides.

Brian Sheridan's move to midfield wrested control back for the county champions and his delivery was flicked to the 'Tones net by substitute Peter Watters and it was 2-7 to 0-7 after 56 minutes.

Another replacement Neil Darby closed Seneschalstown's account. A late Wolfe
Tones flurry yielded points from Martin McNally and John Tiernan.

The latter player saw his stoppage time penalty comfortably saved by county panelist David Lyons.

Early points from McNally and Alan Fox (free) got the home side off to a flying start but similar scores from the influential Mark Carey and Gary Conlon levelled matters.

Then Clarke rounded off a sweeping move with a well-taken goal and Seneschalstown hit the front en route to repeating their SFC final replay win over Wolfe Tones.

Tiernan's first score left just two points between the sides, 0-4 to 1-3, on 21 minutes but that was as close as the Division 1 FL holders got to their rivals on a dry overcast afternoon.

Both teams struggled to find the range at the pavillion end and Seneschalstown might have been more than four points to the good at the break.

A fine Brian Sheridan point was all Seneschalstown managed until their second goal got their league campaign off to a winning start.

Seneschalstown - D. Lyons; C. Gleeson, D. Matthews, D. Byrne; M. Carey (0-1), J. Cowley, J. Byrne; C. Duffy, D. Sheridan (0-1); G. Conlon (0-1), S. Clarke (1-1), S. Finnegan; T. Ledwidge, B. Sheridan (0-2, 1 f), A. Gleeson (0-1). Subs - P. Watters (1-0) for A. Gleeson (34), C. Macken for Ledwidge (46), J. Gilsenan for Conlon, N. Darby (0-1) for Duffy (both 53).

Wolfe Tones - S. Power; R. Brady, A. McKeown, C. Macken; B. McGinn, S. Sheppard, N. McLoughlin; M. Coleman, G. Beggy; P. Caffrey, J. Tiernan (0-4, 2 fs), D. McGrath; A. Fox (0-3 fs), M. McNally (0-2), R. McDonnell. Subs - A. Callaghan for Coleman (50), A. McLoughlin for Fox, Eanna Harrington for Caffrey (both 59)

Referee - S. O'Connor (Carnaross).

Link to Fixture: 
Senior AFL Div 1

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer