September 23rd 2016 Seneschalstown GFC Notes

The Meath SFC returns this weekend and sees us play Ballinlough in Round 5. Castletown is the venue for the clash which will throw in at 20:00. Regardless of how the match pans out we will finish top of the group.

The other matches in Group A this weekend will see Skryne play Rathkenny in Simonstown and Blackhall Gaels play Gaeil Colmcille in Walterstown on Sunday at 14:00.

Junior A
The season came to a disappointing conclusion for the Junior A’s on Saturday when they fell to a 3-15 to 0-09 at the hands of Summerhill in the B League Division 2 playoff. This result consigns us to playing in Division 2 again in 2017.

Seneschalstown: David Gordon, Ronan Conneely, Adam Gargan, Conor Cowley, Mark Fox, Joe Cowley, Colin Walsh, Paul McDonnell, Stephen Finnegan (0-01, 0-01 ’45), Neil Darby (0-01), Niall McCabe, Ryan O’Dowd, Shane Clarke, Eddie Meade (0-01), James Conlon (0-04).

Seneschalstown Substitutions: Niall Groome (0-01) for J. Cowley, Colin Gleeson for R. Conneely, Rob Darby (0-01) for R. O’Dowd, Paul Carey for P. McDonnell, Ciaran Macken for S. Clarke and Mark Carey for N. Darby.

Congratulations to our U-21 management team for 2016 of Joe Finnegan, Joe Sheridan and Robert Ruddy.

Three great clubmen who will no doubt do an excellent job with the team as we look to win the Meath U-21 Championship for the first time since 1992 although we did of course have a great win in the A Championship in 2012 when we defeated Walterstown.

We would also like to place on record our thanks to all others who expressed an interest in the position.

U-17 Boys
The U-17’s booked their place in the Division 2 League Final when overcoming Drumconrath/Meath Hill by 6-16 to 1-09 on Monday evening in Donore.

They will now face Navan O’Mahonys in the final on Wednesday September 28th at 19:30 in Dunganny, a game which will spark memories of their thrilling clash back in August which was decided by a solitary point.

Seneschalstown (14 a side): Keith Waters, Daire Finnegan, Brian Boyd, Ross Mullen, Richie McKeown, Jamie Kirwan, Joseph Moore, Brian Maguire, Cillian Gormley (0-02), Dylan Keating (0-03), Eoin Traynor (0-01), Alan Mulvany (4-02), Cathal Finnegan (2-04, 0-01 Free), Sean Carey.

Seneschalstown Substitutions: Sean Commons (0-04, 0-03 Frees) for J. Moore, James Commons for A. Mulvany, Jason Lyons for B. Boyd, Fionn Hall for R. Mullen, Joseph Moore for D. Finnegan.

It looked at half time that defeat was going to be the outcome of the U-15’s first round game of the Division 2 League last Sunday when they trailed Wolfe Tones by 4-08 to 0-05 at half time.

They refused to lie down though and over the course of the second half mounted a stirring comeback to eventually win out by 4-13 to 4-11.

Seneschalstown: Cathal Darby, Tiernan Keogh, Padraig Finnegan, Ben Coffey, Josh Ryan, Jamie Kirwan, Cillian Lawlor, Simon Rooney, Joseph Moore (0-01), Seanie Dalton, Sean Commons (1-10, 0-06 Frees), Liam Maguire, Ross Mullen (2-02), Will Finnegan (1-00), Alan Carey.

Seneschalstown Substitutions: Donal Commons for A. Carey, Aaron Traynor for T. Keogh, Dara Walsh for J. Ryan.

Next up is a Round 2 game against Round Towers on October 2nd in Kilmainham.

U-13 Boys
The U-13 Boys play St. Peter’s/St. Paul’s in Round 3 of the Division 2 League on Saturday at 15:00 in Dunboyne.

U-11 Boys
The U-11 Boys play against Kilbride in Kilbride on Monday at 18:45.

Minor Ladies
Training for our Minor Ladies team continues next Wednesday at 18:30 in Kentstown.

Girls U-15
The U-15 Girls were another side to record a fine victory last week when overcoming Summerhill by 4-07 to 1-12 in Rathkenny.

Seneschalstown (14 a side): Shauna Gordon, Sadhbh McLarney, Aine Nangle, Lauren McCarthy, Zoe Kirwan, Aoibhe Monaghan (0-01), Caragh Monaghan, Aoife Lenihan (0-02), Ava Jane Ryan, Mallaidh Breen (0-02), Orla Finnegan (0-02), Anna Wogan (1-01), Sinead McLarney (2-00), Aoife Mulvany.

Girls U-11
The U-11 Girls will play Skryne in Kentstown on Monday at 18:30.

Club Nursery
Our U-10’s have a game on Saturday morning at 09:45 against St. Cuthbert’s in Sean Newman Park, Bohermeen.

The U-8’s also play St. Cuthbert’s at 09:45 in the same venue.

The U-6 coaching is postponed this weekend.

Team of the Week.
Congratulations to all chosen on this week's Club Team of the Week which is based on games played between Monday September 12th and Sunday September 18th. It was a quiet week with only the Junior A's, U-15 Girls and U-15 Boys in competitive action while we had some players representing Meath Ladies U-12's.

Robyn Murray (Meath Ladies U-12’s), Aine Nangle (U-15 Girls), Padraig Finnegan (U-15 Boys), Ben Coffey (U-15 Boys), Josh Ryan (U-15 Boys), Zoe Kirwan (U-15 Girls), Sadhbh McLarney (U-15 Girls), Simon Rooney (U-15 Boys), Aoife Lenehan (U-15 Girls), Tara Traynor (Meath Ladies U-12’s), Sean Commons (U-15 Boys), Ava Jane Ryan (U-15 Girls), Ross Mullen (U-15 Boys), Anna Wogan (U-15 Girls), Charlie Murray (Meath Ladies U-12’s).

Player of the Week
Congratulations to Sean Commons who wins this week's Player of the Week Award.

Sean returned from injury on Sunday against Wolfe Tones in the opening round of the U-15 Division 2 League and what a return he had.

In the first half when his side were finding scores very difficult to come by Sean landed three out of their five but it was in the second half that he really cut loose.

His first score of the half was an audacious free from the right sideline which he curled over off the outside of the right despite the driving rain.

This really seemed to ignite his fire and from there to the finish Sean was unmarkable as he finished up with 1-10, 1-04 of which came from open play.

Meath U-16
Well done to Alan Mulvany and Dylan Keating who both played for Meath U-16’s against Offaly on Thursday evening with Alan scoring two points and Dylan notching one. It is believed the game ended in a draw.

Meath Ladies U-12
What a brilliant day our 4 young superstars had last Saturday in Portlaoise playing with the Meath Ladies U-12's in the Leinster Ladies Gaelic Football Blitz.

Charlie Murray, Robyn Murray and Tara Traynor were part of the team which won the Division 2 competition following the team’s victory over Kildare in the Final on a score of Meath 2-06 Kildare 0-01.

Megan Clarke was a key member of the side which operated in Division 1 and they reached the Final which was a repeat of the final from the Blitz in Carlow back in June. Kildare were determined not to lose again today and proved a shade too strong for Meath.

Great credit must go to the players and coaches of both sides who served up a thrilling day's football and shows the future in Meath is very bright.

Club Lotto
The numbers drawn in this week’s Lotto were 7, 13, 21, 24. There was no winner of the jackpot of €10,000 which means next week’s jackpot will once more be worth €10,000. The 5 by €25 winners were Jean Mullen, Aine Clarke, John Reid, Noel Curran and Ann Carolan.

Tickets for the Lotto are €2 or 3 for €5. They can be purchased from committee members, Lotto sellers, local shops or you can also play online at

Kentstown NS Run
The club have a wonderful relationship with Kentstown NS which is being enhanced every year with our very successful Club/School Link. This Saturday, they have a 5K walk/run to raise vital funds for the school. We would encourage any supporters/members to support this if at all possible.

Social Media
Don’t forget that you can keep up to date with all club activities by following us on Twitter (@SeneschalstownG) or by giving us a like on Facebook (Seneschalstown GFC). We are now also on Instagram (seneschalstown_gfc). There are regularly score updates on our games on Twitter which is a great way to keep informed as to how our teams are doing.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer