'Town run out of steam in Kilberry

2017 Feis Cup Round 1

Wolfe Tones 2-15 Seneschalstown 1-12 (AET)

There was more than an element of controversy to how things panned out in Kilberry on Sunday morning but over the course of the 80 minutes the benefits of Wolfe Tones having a competitive outing the previous week were on show for all to see as they looked a fitter, sharper outfit, not that Seneschalstown will be overly perturbed with that considering the Championship starting date is three and a bit months away.

On the freshest of February morning’s, the visiting Seneschalstown side got off to a bright start when playing into the clubhouse goals the raiding Niall Groome surged forward from his wing back berth to point following clever work from Niall McCabe and Jonathan Gilsenan with only thirty seconds on the clock. Bryan Clarke followed up with two points from play to leave Seneschalstown three points to the good with six minutes on the clock and indeed could have made it six only for his palmed effort to be cleared off the line.

The scoreless opening to the game for Wolfe Tones came to a close soon after when Éanna Harrington goaled and indeed they were almost in for a second moments later only for Conor Cowley to pull off a save on the goal line. Former Meath forward Cian Ward edged the home side in front soon after when landing a free while Seneschalstown then suffered the blow of losing promising youngster Brian Maguire to a hamstring injury.

As the game entered its second quarter Damien Sheridan sent over a booming effort from distance and then Bryan Clarke showed quick reactions to latch onto the loose ball after Robert Wogan’s effort was parried out to fire to the back of the net with his left boot. Seneschalstown pushed four clear on 23 minutes when Meath panellist Joe Sheridan pointed but on the run in towards half time Wolfe Tones outscored the away outfit by 2 points to 1 when Stephen Sheppard and Pauric Diamond pointed either side of a Bryan Clarke free.

Niall McLoughlin opened the second half scoring when pointing for the first time in the game but Brendan lynch cancelled his score out after getting on the end of good play from Niall McCabe and Robert Wogan. The wasteful Wolfe Tones though were gaining a greater foothold on proceedings and Cian Ward sent over two frees to leave just a point between the sides. The always accurate Clarke pushed that back out to two but the fitness of Wolfe Tones was beginning to show and two points from Stephen Sheppard and one from Stephen Corrigan saw them one clear going into stoppage time.

Deep into stoppage time Alan Fox who had entered the fray at half time received a black card and seconds later Bryan Clarke, after receiving a dunt in the back, sent the resultant free over the bar to tie the game up and send it to extra time, not what those in attendance who were heading to the Meath and Kildare game wanted!

The previously sent off Alan Fox returned to the field for extra time and in the additional twenty minutes the home side dominated. The picked off 3 points as well as a fisted Pauric Diamond goal while all Seneschalstown could muster in response was a Clarke free in the opening period of 10 minutes.

The second half followed a similar pattern with only a Clarke free coming in response to a couple of Wolfe Tones points.

Wolfe Tones: Trevor Browne, Aonghus Mc Loughlin, Eoghan Harrington, Conor Sheppard, Niall Mc Loughlin (0-02), Shane Glynn, Brughach O’Fionnagáin, Stephen Corrigan (0-01), Cian O Neill, Niall O’Reilly, Padraic Diamond (0-02), Alan Callaghan, Éanna Harrington (1-02), Stephen Sheppard (1-03), Cian Ward (0 05, 0-05 Frees)

Subs: Charlie McGarry for Aonghus Mc Loughlin, Alan Fox for Niall O’Reilly, Killian O’Brien for Alan Fox, Killian O’Brien for Cian O Neill (ET).

Seneschalstown: Shane Corbally, Conor Cowley, John Smith, Brian Maguire, Adam Carey, David Matthews, Niall Groome (0-01), James Conlon, Damien Sheridan (0-01), Brendan Lynch, Joe Sheridan (0-01), Niall McCabe, Robert Wogan, Jonathan Gilsenan, Bryan Clarke (1-08, 0-06 Frees).

Subs: Ronan Conneely for B Maguire, Paul McDonnell for B. Lynch, Eddie Meade for J. Gilsenan, Dylan Doyle for N. McCabe, Jonathan Gilsenan for R. Wogan (ET).

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer