Commons Powers Minors to Second Win

LMFM Minor Football Championship Division 1 Group B

Round 2

Seneschalstown 0-11 Donaghmore/Ashbourne 0-10

Seneschalstown made it back to back wins in the LMFM Minor Football Championship on Monday night when defeating Donaghmore/Ashbourne by the narrowest of margins.

Having beaten Dunderry last Monday, Seneschalstown knew a win here would be leave them in a strong position to qualify for the semi-finals, even though that has not been rubber stamped just yet.

Seneschalstown kicked the last 11 points on the bounce to win their opener last week, and continued that here when Jamie Barry took a neat score to get proceedings underway inside the first minute and Cian Commons curled over an excellent point after six minutes.

Donaghmore/Ashbourne opened their account a minute later and by the 16th minute had moved 0-04 to 0-02 ahead with three further consecutive white flags as it looked like they may take control of the game.

Mattie Cowley kicked a point in the 18th minute that his hard working performance deserved when he created some space for himself to settle Seneschalstown once again.  Seneschalstown could have found the back of the Donaghmore net on a couple of occasions but the visiting keeper pulled off a number of smart stops to keep the home side at bay. On one such occasion before the break, the ball was cleared for a 45’ which Liam Dillon duly converted leaving the sides level at the break at 0-04 apiece.

Seneschalstown made a promising start to the second half when Cian Commons won the throw up and set up Phillip Smyth to kick a fine point. The visitors replied in kind in the 33rd minute, before Commons took centre stage again with two points on the trot.

His first effort was a free and the second from play as he started to have a bigger impact on the game.  The visitors pulled one back back before a pair of Commons frees from almost identical positions had Seneschalstown 0-09 to 0-06 in front after 43 minutes.

The ‘Moores were certainly on top in the final quarter as the registered four of the next five points in a good ten minute spell to leave the game at 0-10 each. Seneschalstown’s only riposte in this period was a Commons pile-driver just over the bar when he could have found the net, after Colm McDonnell set him through on goal.

The game was still level as the 60th minute ticked by and both sides missed chanced to move ahead before Commons took the ball and after trying to engineer space on his right foot, cut back and clipped over the winner from 30 metres off his left foot.  Seneschalstown held out for one more attack before Liam Reddy blew the final whistle signalling a second win in the competition for the Boynesiders.

Seneschalstown: Jamie Norris, Eoghan McGauran, Seán Reilly, Jack McDonnell, Tadhg Lenehan, Liam Dillon (0-01, 1 45’) Bradley Kirwan, Aran Carey, Cian Commons (0-07, 3fs), James Sharkey, Phillip Smyth (0-01), Mattie Cowley (0-01), Jamie Barry (0-01), Colm McDonnell, Charles McCarthy.

Subs: Lorcan Lawlor

By shanemulvany Tue 29th Aug